Parmesan Pretzel Bites

13 Aug

Even before I received my samples from Saucy Mama, I knew exactly what I wanted to make– pretzels to dip in some wonderful mustard. I am a big fan of mustard, especially some smokey garlic mustard. After one bite, I couldn’t stop craving a hot dog because after all, hot dogs and mustard are meant to be together. I’m kind of still craving a hot dog…..interesting….

Anyways, previous to this post, I did a pretzel stick recipe to go along with some soup. These are very similar to those except quite possibly the lazier version. I’m always opting for the easy way out. So, I defrosted a few dinner rolls for 2 hours or so, cut them in half, dipped them in a baking soda and water solution and then sprinkled on some salt, pepper, parsley and parmesan cheese. How ridiculously simple is that? I realize that they didn’t get as dark as my last pretzel recipe or even pretzels you’d buy at the ball game, but that’s because most of the dough is covered by cheese so they aren’t going to get as dark. Feel free to make these without anything but salt to get the dark color. Both are delicious with mustard, especially gourmet smokey garlic mustard! Yum.

**Don’t forget to enter the Saucy Mama giveaway! See previous post for details! You have until tonight at midnight (pacific) to enter and tell your friends! Winner will be selected and announced Saturday morning!**


Parmesan Pretzel Bites
yield: 12 bites
Ingredients:
6 frozen dinner rolls
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1 cup hot tap water
1 1/2 tablespoons baking soda
salt
pepper
parsley flakes 
parmesan cheese
Directions:
Defrost rolls for about 2 hours until dough is completely thawed. Cut dough balls into two even pieces. Form into small pillow shapes, if desired. (I was too lazy to do that!) Dissolve baking soda in hot water. Dip dough pieces into baking soda solution and place on greased baking sheet. Brush dough with melted butter and more baking soda solution. Sprinkle salt, pepper, parsley flakes and parmesan cheese over top. Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes. Serve with mustard.
3 Responses to “Parmesan Pretzel Bites”

  1. The Marshalls August 13, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    wow, that seems easy! I'll totaly make me some 🙂 thanks!

  2. Mark and Tammy August 13, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    That looks yummy, though I am not a huge mustard fan I might be making these soon and try it out

  3. Barbara Bakes August 14, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    I was looking for a recipe to take to a party this week. I'm thinking Parmesan pretzel bites might be perfect. They look like a perfect appetizer.

Leave a Reply

