What to do with Fresh Raspberries (Part I)

16 Jul

It’s almost the weekend. Hallelujah! Do you all have plans? I plan on relaxing and finally getting rid of this slight cold I’ve had for the past three days.

So, first of all, let me explain this post. On Wednesday evening, my cute little family went to go pick some raspberries at my in-laws. I got a little ambitious and we came home with two big bowls full. Then, the next day, some sweet ladies from my church came by for a visit and brought me more raspberries! If you know anything about super sweet super fresh just picked raspberries, you know that they are best when eaten right away. I love fresh raspberries so I had to think of what I could do with all of them….and fast. So, this marks the beginning of my ‘what to do with fresh raspberries’ series. We’ll see how many raspberry recipes I can pop out.

First up: Raspberry Cobbler Pie. Since I had a pie crust left over from my previous post, I thought it only fitting that I make a pie. I usually hate baked fruit, so I thought I would broaden my horizons and give this pie a whirl. Growing up, my parents or grandparents had never made raspberry pie before, so I thought it was a pretty uncommon thing to make because it may not be the most favorite kind of pie. Well, after you make this, you may end up changing your mind. I was surprised at how delicious and flavorful it was! If you don’t mind a few seeds, then this pie is for you. The buttery crust worked well with the berries and the topping added a nice little touch because of the cinnamon. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to use cinnamon because I thought it might be weird/gross but I did and it was fabulous!

This pie is pretty easy to make too. The filling is just fresh berries mixed with a few ingredients and the topping is just a matter of measuring and crumbling. Simple! I’d say the hardest part is waiting for the pie to cool completely. I guess technically you don’t have to, but if you want it to keep it’s shape then you will. Also, make sure you have ice cream or fresh whipped cream–it only makes it better! Yum.

Raspberry Cobbler Pie
Yield-1-9 inch pie, or 8-10 servings

Ingredients:
1-9 inch pie shell, unbaked

for the filling-
5 cups fresh raspberries
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar (more or less-depending how sweet your fruit is)
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
dash of salt

for the topping-
1/3 cup all purpose flour
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
dash of salt
1/4 cup cold butter, cubed

whipped cream
vanilla ice cream

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Pour all ingredients for the pie filling into a large bowl. Gently stir to coat raspberries in flour and sugar mixture without breaking them as best as you can. Pour into unbaked pie shell and even out the top.
Combine all ingredients for the topping together. Using a pastry cutter, a fork or your fingers, mix butter into flour mixture and break it into small pea-sized pieces. Sprinkle evenly over raspberries. Place pie into preheated oven on middle rack with a baking sheet placed below to catch any drips. Bake for 30 minutes then reduce the heat to 325 and bake another 30 minutes. Remove from oven and cool completely. Serve with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

One Response to “What to do with Fresh Raspberries (Part I)”

  1. shuttle5 July 17, 2010 at 5:15 am #

    Aha, so this is the pie you've been talking about. Yes, looks fabulously delectable! I like the way it's not too sweet, too. I'd like to frame the picture but not take a bite. If I did, I'd eat the whole piece and might be sorry. Num-num…

Leave a Reply

