My FAVORITE Pie Crust

14 Jul
Well, happy Wednesday, friends! I’ve enjoyed a few days of cool weather but today, it’s going back into the 80’s which means I’ll probably be sweating by 11 am and the oven won’t be turning on until September. Over these last few days, I’ve taken advantage of having a cooler than normal apartment and did a little baking. 
Do you like pie? I LOVE pie…..and pie crust. It is just so irresistibly flaky, buttery and delicious. All pie crusts are not created equal, however. Some are made with all lard, some all butter, and some are just combinations of the two. The recipe my mom uses (the one from the tenderflake box) calls for an egg and vinegar which isn’t uncommon in the least. That is the one I grew up with and it is pretty tasty, except there’s no butter in it. I like love butter, so I went on a quest to find/create a better pie crust recipe that better suited my butter needs and my taste buds. Well, I found the recipes that called for all butter were a little much and the ones that had a few tablespoons of butter just weren’t enough. But then, it happened. The universe smiled down upon me and brought the crisco pie crust recipe into my life. With a few tweaks, I made one of the best pie crusts I’ve ever tasted. (The quiche I made with it was pretty divine too, by the way.) I didn’t end up having to add in a whole lot of butter either to get the taste I wanted because I used…..are you ready for this…… butter flavored crisco!! Smart, right? For some of you, this is probably old news, but I thought it was genius! I had never heard of using it before especially for pie crust! But, I did, and it was goo-ood. 
Of course when making ANY pie crust, you’re going to want to use cold products–cold butter, cold crisco, and cold water. Cold=flaky. Also, you’re going to want to work fast with your cold dough and flour your work surface well. If you do that, then rolling out pie crust shouldn’t be any trouble at all! And if for some reason your dough falls apart, no fear! Just press it together in the pie plate. You’re going to fill it anyways, so no one will know!
Classic Pie Crust
(for double-crust 9-inch pie)
*adapted from Crisco*

Ingredients:
2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cold butter flavored Crisco All-Vegetable Shortening
1/4 cup cold butter
4-8 tablespoons ice cold water
Directions:
Blend flour and salt in mixing bowl. Cut cubed chilled shortening into flour mixture using a pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs with pea-sized pieces remaining. Sprinkle half the maximum amount of ice water over flour mixture; mix gently with fork. Add more water by the tablespoon, mixing until dough holds together. Divide dough into two, with one ball slightly larger than the other. Flatten dough into 1/2-inch thick round disks, wrap in plastic wrap; refrigerate at least 30 minutes. Place larger disk of dough on lightly floured surface. With floured rolling pin, roll dough outward from center into circle 2-inches wider than pie plate. Ease bottom crust into pie plate and trim evenly around plate. Fill unbaked pie crust according to recipe directions. Roll top pie crust; lift onto filled pie. Trim dough with 3/4 inch overhang. fold top edge under bottom crust. Press edges together and flute. Cut slits in top crust. Bake according to recipe directions.
One Response to “My FAVORITE Pie Crust”

  1. Mark and Tammy August 13, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    Made this pie crust for Blackberry pie and couldn't get enough of it. I love the buttery flavor and the flakiness of it. I rubbed a little milk on the top sprinkled sugar and it was 100% perfect and EASY. Thank you Lauren for making my first blackberry pie a success.

Leave a Reply

