Nutritious and Delicious Apple Oat Cake

24 Feb
After seeing that picture, I bet you’re thinking ‘what kind of plain jane cake is that?’–Don’t let the simple look of this cake turn you off! It is so so good! I know it could maybe be fancier, but I kind of like it simple. Don’t be a hater. Embrace the average looking cake BECAUSE it is well above average in quality and taste. (And, I’m working on my photo taking skills, so leave me and my weird photos alone!)
So, about this cake–I have somehow managed to make it nutritional! I actually really enjoy revamping recipes like this. Its good for your body, makes you feel great and eating another piece doesn’t have to cause as much guilt as it once did. Its a win-win-win situation. Love it when that happens. The cake stays very moist because of the apple, but there still is a little crunch because of the topping as well as good texture from all those oats. The combination is pretty great. I like it.
Now, before I type out this entire recipe, let me warn you–its addictive. Once you start, you can’t stop. I had my fair share (and then some) and finally had to give it all away because I couldn’t have it in the house any longer! So, beware. If you have practically no will power, then find a group of people and then dig in. I’ll be honest–I have no will power. Hence me creating healthier versions of cake….and then giving it all away due to my addiction to food. (Side note: eating the ENTIRE cake is not so healthy! There’s some good advice for the day from me to you. You’re welcome.)
Apple Oat Cake
Yield: 12 servings
For the cake:

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs, separated
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup peeled, grated apple (I used fuji’s)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup wheat germ
1 cup oats
For the topping:
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup oats
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
dash allspice
For the glaze:
1 cup powdered sugar
1-2 tablespoons milk
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Generously grease 11×7 baking pan with butter and set aside.
In large bowl, whip butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Mix in vanilla and egg yolks. (Keep egg whites and set aside for later!) Stir in apple followed by all dry ingredients. Mix until just combined. In separate clean, dry bowl, whip egg whites until firm peaks form. Carefully fold whipped egg whites into cake batter. Pour into prepared pan. Mix all ingredients for topping in small bowl until course crumbs form. Sprinkle over top of unbaked cake. Bake 25-30 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean. Cool 15-20 minutes. While cake is cooling, mix powdered sugar with milk to make the glaze. After cake has cooled, top with glaze–I didn’t end up using all of mine because I don’t like things too sweet, but its totally up to you how much you use.
Recipe TIPS
-This recipe could be baked in a 9×9 square pan or even into muffins. Increase your baking time 5 minutes for a square pan and decrease your baking time 5 minutes for muffins.
-The topping is totally optional! I like the little crunch, but the cake is just as delicious on its own!
-The glaze is also optional as well. My husband really loves sweet things. If you are making muffins for breakfast, then the healthier start to the day would probably be without the glaze. Its just a preference thing. Do what you want!
2 Responses to “Nutritious and Delicious Apple Oat Cake”

  1. Barbara Bakes February 25, 2010 at 3:48 am #

    My family loves a glaze on any dessert! I think the cake looks and sounds wonderful!

  2. shuttle5 February 26, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Your photo skills are not lacking…

Leave a Reply

