Steak: its a beautiful thing

14 Jan
My husband and I were grocery shopping on Saturday (a very rare thing for us BOTH to be at the store) and of course we were hitting up all the bargains. Now, usually when I go at this alone, I pick up the usual same food items and if there’s money left in the budget, I wander the store looking for something new and interesting, or get something I’ve been wanting to try. With my husband on hand, there is no wandering or picking up ‘something new’. He is very good at listening to his stomach and he is a very decisive man, therefore we ended up with large sirloin filled styrofoam trays that were pricey, even with the sale. Not one tray, but two. Two trays that were close to 4 pounds of fabulous and expensive beef all for 2 people. Beautiful fat steaks were now in my cart.
Now, before I go any further with this little story, I have to tell you all something. I am a recovering food addict. Some days are harder than others, but for the most part, I hear all food everywhere chanting “eat me eat me”. I just can’t say no. Case in point, freshman year of college, my roommate made a better than sex cake. Ever had one? They are of the devil. I ate it all through the course of one Sunday evening. BAM! The freshman 15 in one sitting. You think I’m kidding or over exaggerating. I am most definitely not kidding. Ask my roommates. I’m addicted to food.
Back to the story.
I love my husband because he is great at making decisions, especially his decision to pick up some lovely steak. I fully support that decision. However, he is very good at saying no to food. When he’s full, he’s full and thats the end of it. That’s why he’s a svelte 170 and holding strong. Doesn’t quite work that way for me. I’ve got……issues.
My internal dialogue went something like this : “This is going to be expensive….Steak is really good…..but we’re going to go over the budget….steak is really good…do we really need two trays?…steak is really good…etc. etc.” I think you see where this is going.
Steak- expensive
Butter- not so expensive
Eating fabulous sirloin 4 days in a row: Priceless.
Yes we went over budget for a few steaks. We were naughty. But, it really was worth it…4 sweet blessed days in a row.
Now, here’s the point I wanted to make: There is no sense in purchasing overpriced meat if you don’t know how to cook it properly! I’d say it again, but I don’t want to type it all out again. Just read it over and over until its burned into your retinas.
So, this little post will teach you how to cook a steak to a perfect medium flawlessly. That’s how we like it and that’s how we eat it. You can adjust the cooking times to create your perfect steak too. I’ll show you how! Its a great technique I picked up somewhere…..but I just can’t remember right now. I’ll give who ever credit as soon as I can remember, ok? Ok!
It all starts off with some olive oil and butter in a pan. Sweet sweet butter. Turn your pan up so its screaming hot. For me, thats medium high. If you turn our burner on high, I swear it’ll burn the place down. Also, preheat the oven to 350.
Swirl all that grease around the bottom of the pan. Its bubbling and getting angry! Thats how you know its H-O-T HOT! (A little shout out to our cute niece and nephew in Colorado!)
Next comes our lovely Sirloin. We had some huge steaks in this one! Salt and pepper the one side of the meat, place it seasoning side down into the pan and then add the s&p to the other side.

It’ll look something like this. Sizzle away, boys! You want the one side to get dark and yummy looking. Kind of vague with the description…..I can do better: cook your meat 3-4 minutes on the first side without touching it or moving it around. Movement=bad.

While you’re waiting for your meat to get pretty and delicious, find yourself a little butter….or a lot…

Now, when you are ready, flip your steaks over, top them with butter and throw them into your hot oven for 5 minutes, keeping them in the same skillet! Did I mention you need to use an oven proof pan? Oops…

So, after 5 minutes, take them out of the oven, transfer them to a plate and cover them with foil. Let these babies rest! They’ve been through a lot, after all!

After 5 minutes, take the foil off and slice thinly and for everything that pure and holy, cut against the grain!!
Oh baby, is this good stuff.

3 Responses to “Steak: its a beautiful thing”

  1. Amy Diestler January 15, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    To all readers of this blog: the better than sex cake story is true. As one of Lauren's former roommates, I can attest to that. Also, beware of rice krispie treats. It's okay though, we all have our demons. Little Debbie Oatmeal pies anyone?

  2. Amy Diestler January 15, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    PS Thanks for teaching me how to cook steak! I never knew . . .Alex will be thanking you as well.

  3. shuttle5 January 24, 2010 at 5:02 am #

    Your descriptions add to the intrigue of eating the stuff. And they're entertaining. Never knew how to cook them like this, but will try it!

Leave a Reply

