Thai Peanut Noodles

7 Dec

This recipe is going out to my brother-in-law John! Holla! We talked the other day and he requested a few recipes that included more vegetables. The majority of people I know don’t usually eat plain veggies without any sort of condiment because they are boring and/or gross. I happened to love any sort of vegetables!! (a rather unusual but totally awesome trait I inherited from my Mother) This doesn’t help that I love ’em and everyone else hates ’em…..ok, ok, maybe hate is a little strong….HOWEVER, I am your cook and I will strive to help you realize that they really aren’t so bad, plus (an added bonus) I’ll help you sneak them into foods too! But thats for another day. SO, rule #1 (which applies to this recipe) when working with lots of fresh vegetables that some might stick their noses up at, smother it in a delicious sauce! The peanutty noodle goodness is so fabulous that its still calling me to the fridge!
This is a delicious and upbeat recipe that gets you out of the same old recipe grind and really is a quick side dish or meal that takes less than 30 minutes! All it involves is a little chopping and boiling! And, for a complete meal, add in some grilled chicken or shrimp. Delicious!
Oh, and, you lucky people you, I took step by step photos of this recipe, for your convenience and because I love you! Wasn’t that nice of me!

Thai Peanut Noodles
Ingredients:
3/4 lb. spaghetti noodles
1/2 cup Gourmet Sauce or Teriyaki Sauce
1/4 cup peanut butter
1 lime
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
chopped peanuts for garnish
for the vegetables I used:
1/2 green bell pepper, sliced thinly
1/2 red bell pepper, sliced thin
1 large carrot, peeled and julienned
3 scallions, sliced on the diagonal, (because you can and its fancy!)
but you can add in any of the following depending on preference:
bell peppers
bean sprouts
mushrooms
carrots
bamboo shoots
napa cabbage
fresh garlic
fresh ginger
even more cilantro
hot chili flakes (its a spice….so not a vegetable, but it would still be good)

Now, for the Directions:

Measure out some Gourmet Sauce (or if you can’t find this, use teriyaki sauce)

and some peanut butter

So it looks like this….doesn’t look all too impressive yet

cut open your lime

and squeeze all the juice in!

In the meantime, cook up 3/4 pound of spaghetti

Stir up your sauce so its all uniform in color. (I had to microwave it for 20 seconds or so to melt the peanut butter into the sauce)

Cut up all the veggies you want. I used red and green bell peppers, carrots, scallions and lots cilantro (cause my husband loves the stuff)
Drain your pasta at al dente and run cold water over them to stop cooking and make them cold. Typically, this dish is served cold, but is equally good warm!

Dump your pasta into the sauce and toss all together with the veggies.

Serve with chopped peanuts. That wasn’t so hard, was it?
4 Responses to “Thai Peanut Noodles”

  1. Bonnie December 7, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    That sounds so yummy! I am going to try it. I will let you know how it goes!

  2. Bonnie December 8, 2009 at 2:59 am #

    hey lauren this is Tyler just wanted to let you know your blog saved my life! this food is sooo good! Thanks for your effort and say hi to brenny for me.

  3. shuttle5 December 8, 2009 at 4:07 am #

    This was delish to come home to. Soooo yummy. Yeah, and I "don't eat wheat" except for when Lauren comes up with a winner like this. Mom Brennan Oh, and I LOVE all the pictures…makes me _want_ to chop veggies.

  4. Em December 9, 2009 at 12:23 am #

    ok. I made this one tonight. Mmmm mmmm. We like ours hot, so I stir fried the veggies first for a few minutes then added gourmet sauce and pb which melted quickly. I also added more left over Turkey-sooo easy!! We used rice noodles, cause Zach wanted to pick some up. Thank you, thank you. Even better- all three of our kids ate it!

Leave a Reply

