Waste Less Food TIPS!

19 Nov

I’ve been thinking a lot about how to stretch a dollar and how I can use everything I buy so I don’t waste a thing!

In these economic times, I know we (my little family of 3) aren’t the only ones struggling out there, financially. I guess struggling isn’t exactly the word….hmm…we are frugal. We have a budget because we have other things to pay for and future things to save for. This isn’t a bad thing at all. In fact, it makes me feel good to find the sales and the better deals. AND, it makes me feel even better being able to completely clean out my fridge, knowing I ate all the produce I bought without throwing anything out! There is nothing worse than throwing away rotton food. You could have used it, you just didn’t.

Well here are a few things I’ve realized as I’ve gone through the ‘poor college student’ phase, or the ‘poor married college student phase’ or the ‘tight budget small family’ phase. If you have any other tips, let me know! Email me, or comment! We’d love to hear them!

1. Before you go grocery shopping, clean out your fridge! Know what items you still have and get rid of the rotting fruit or vegetables in the crisper drawers!

2. Look through your cupboards and organize items together-ie-all pastas together, all canned vegetables together, etc..

3. Steps 1 & 2 are important because this step is to take inventory! Write down everything you have and figure out meals you can make without taking a trip to the grocery store(this is called using what you have!)

4. With the other items you haven’t yet assigned to particular meals (specifically fresher items that will spoil), think of meals or snacks you could make by adding a few more ingredients and then start a grocery list of items you are missing.

5. Be sure to cook/bake with the fresher ingredients that are stored in the fridge FIRST! Why use canned vegetables if you have fresh?

6. If things are really on the verge of spoiling (like fresh tomatoes that are really soft) make a meal and freeze it (like some marinara sauce or bolgonase).

7. If you’re planning to make a specific meal and you think you need to run to the grocery store for that one thing you’re missing, think again! See if you can swap the ingredient you’re missing for something you already have.

8. Do not disregard leftovers! If you are having trouble re-inventing the same-ol’ things, drop me a line and I’ll see what I can do!

I promise that with a few extra minutes of planning and organizing, that you all can save money by using EVERYTHING you buy!

One Response to “Waste Less Food TIPS!”

  1. shuttle5 November 28, 2009 at 4:41 am #

    Hmmm, my post didn't stay…here goes again. You make it sound so easy and it makes so much sens. I'll have to remember these…

Leave a Reply

