Cheesecake Ice Cream

4 Nov


Hope you all had a fabulous Halloween! I took my little girl out and we collected lots of loot! She was such a cute little kitty!

Anyways, wow is this DELICIOUS! I love ice cream but usually I don’t make my own because I don’t have an ice cream maker. Well, today, I made ice cream without the special machine and it worked great! I had some left over cream cheese and whipped it with some heavy cream and popped it into the freezer! It came together in a snap, and only took about 3 hours to freeze! Very decadent and totally worth the few extra calories!
Cheesecake Ice Cream
2 cups heavy cream, divided
1 cup sugar, divided
1 8-oz package cream cheese at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon salt
In a large bowl (I used a stand mixer), whip 1 cup cold cream with 1/4 cup sugar until stiff peaks form. Set aside. In another bowl, whip cream cheese and remaining 3/4 cup sugar until smooth. Scrape down sides and whip again. Slowly stream in 1 cup cream, vanilla and salt. Scrape down sides and whip again. Fold whipped cream into cream cheese mixture until uniform in consistency. Spoon into wax paper-lined air-tight container. Smooth the top and cover with lid. Freeze until mostly solid, about 3 hours. Top with desired toppings- I used graham crackers and chocolate chips, but chocolate or caramel syrup and nuts would be great, too!
One Response to “Cheesecake Ice Cream”

  1. Barbara Bakes November 6, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    Yum! I love the addition of chocolate chips and graham crackers! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I'll look forward to following your posts.

Leave a Reply

