Pumpkin Cream Cheese filled Crepes

21 Oct

Please excuse the bright photo! My camera skills are clearly not as good as my cooking skills. Anyways, I have a great fall recipe for you! I love all the things you can make with that leftover pumpkin puree (because I never seem to use an entire can of pumpkin in ANY recipe…I always have extras in my fridge this time of year) Its sort of like a pumpkin cheesecake wrapped up in a crepe! And, crepes are super easy to make–don’t think you can’t!

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Filling
2 oz cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup pureed pumpkin
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Whip cream cheese with sugar until smooth. Stir in pumpkin, cinnamon and vanilla. Serve with warm crepes.
Crepes (My mom’s recipe–can’t make one better!)
2 eggs
2 cups + 2 tablespoons milk
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon sugar
2 tablespoons melted butter or oil
pinch of salt
Whisk wet ingredients together. Add in the dry ingredients and whisk to combine (try to get the lumps out, but its ok if there are a few). Refrigerate batter for an hour or more. In hot, lightly greased fry pan, pour batter to cover the bottom in a thin layer. Flip when top of crepe looks dry. Fry for 15 seconds more and remove. Repeat the process until batter is gone.
Crepes are great with the pumpkin filling mentioned above or some other favorite ways are: fruit and cream, chocolate hazelnut spread, lemon juice and sugar or jam. Savory crepes are equally delicious, too!
4 Responses to “Pumpkin Cream Cheese filled Crepes”

  1. shuttle5 October 21, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    Lauren, your crepes were fabulous and I'm glad I got to see you in action making them. Missed the dessert but I know it was a hit as my husband ate two! You really DO use up things that shouldn't be wasted, and they are always so yummy. I'll keep this recipe for sure!

  2. shuttle5 October 21, 2009 at 10:19 pm #

    What do you mean by savory crepes?

  3. Amy Diestler October 23, 2009 at 4:43 am #

    Mmmmmmm! I want one!

  4. Jana November 3, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    WOW those look great, I had pumpkin in the freezer and hubby requested crepes for his birthday…thanks for the great recipe!

Leave a Reply

